--- title: "Managing Roles" slug: "managing-roles" description: "Manage custom roles in the Workforce Experience Platform with ease—add, update, duplicate, or delete roles to enhance security and efficiency." updated: 2026-04-23T22:31:05Z published: 2026-04-24T00:00:00Z canonical: "learn.workforceexperience.hp.com/managing-roles" --- > ## Documentation Index > Fetch the complete documentation index at: https://learn.workforceexperience.hp.com/llms.txt > Use this file to discover all available pages before exploring further. # Managing Roles ## Introduction The **Roles Management** feature in the Workforce Experience Platform (WXP) allows you (IT administrators) to add, update, duplicate, and delete custom roles. This helps maintain a secure and efficient IT environment by ensuring users have access only to the areas of the platform relevant to their responsibilities. This article provides a step-by-step guide to: - [Add a custom role](https://learn.workforceexperience.hp.com/docs/managing-roles#adding-a-custom-role) - [Duplicate a custom role](https://learn.workforceexperience.hp.com/docs/managing-roles#duplicating-a-custom-role) - [Edit a custom role](https://learn.workforceexperience.hp.com/docs/managing-roles#updating-a-custom-role) - [Delete a custom role](https://learn.workforceexperience.hp.com/docs/managing-roles#deleting-a-custom-role) ## Adding a Custom Role To add a new custom role: 1. Log in to WXP. The **Home** page is displayed. 2. From the left menu of the platform, select **Accounts** > **Roles & Permissions**. The existing roles are displayed, along with the option to **Add** a new role. ![image.png](https://cdn.us.document360.io/c9ecd56a-08d4-4e2f-ab71-60540f7ba8f3/Images/Documentation/image%28429%29.png?sv=2026-02-06&spr=https&st=2026-10-30T15%3A27%3A28Z&se=2026-10-30T16%3A27%3A28Z&sr=c&sp=r&sig=qJLyy5WaxT8fYObxWTy3QLWUKwZIc1%2Fjt4sCMj5Vim4%3D) 1. Click **Add**. The page refreshes to show a **Create Custom Role** workflow. 2. In **Step 1 of 2**, enter the **Custom Role Name** (mandatory) and a **Short Description** (optional) for the new role. - Select one or more permissions, such as - Developer - Printer Admin - Lost Device Admin - Report Admin - IT Admin - Pulse Admin - Connector Admin - (Optional) Additional customization of permissions: - For each category, view the number of enabled tasks. For example, if **Connector Admin** permission is selected, you will see *30 of 37* tasks enabled for **Accounts**, *12 of 13* tasks enabled for **Alerts & Notifications**, and so forth. - Scroll down to expand and review categories, such as **Accounts**, **Alerts & Notifications**, **Analytics**, **Devices**, **Groups**, **Help & Support**, **Integrations**, **Remediations**, **Settings**, and more. - Enable or disable specific tasks within each category. The count of selected permissions updates automatically. - Click **Save and Continue**. 3. In the Step 2 of 2, Assign Users. - Search for an existing user by **User Name** and/or **Email**. 4. Click **Finish**. The newly added role is displayed in the **Roles & Permissions** tab. ## Duplicating a Custom Role To duplicate an existing role: 1. From the left menu of WXP, select **Accounts** > **Roles & Permissions**. The existing roles are displayed. 2. Hover over a custom role you want to duplicate. On the far right a three-dots menu icon is displayed. 3. Click **Duplicate**. The Create Custom Role page is displayed with pre-filled data that can be edited. 4. Edit the role **Name** and **Permissions** as required. 5. Optionally, customize the enabled tasks in each category listed below the **Permissions**. 6. Click **Save and Continue**. 7. Add or remove users assigned to the role. 8. Review the changes and click **Finish**. The duplicated role is displayed in the **Roles & Permissions** tab under the new name given during duplication. Both predefined and custom roles can be duplicated. ## Updating a Custom Role To update a custom role: 1. From the left menu of WXP, select **Accounts** > **Roles & Permissions**. The existing roles are displayed. 2. Click on the role you want to edit. The page refreshes to show **Edit Custom Role** page. The name appears non-editable. 3. Edit the permissions and optionally customize the allowed task for each category. 4. Click **Save and Continue**. 5. Add or remove users assigned to the role. 6. Click **Finish**. The updated role is displayed in the Role & Permissions tab. Only custom roles can be updated. ## Deleting a Custom Role To delete a custom role: 1. From the left menu of WXP, select **Accounts** > **Roles & Permissions**. The existing roles are displayed. 2. Hover over the custom role you want to delete. On the far right a three-dot icon is displayed, click **Delete**. A confirmation message is displayed: "Are you sure you want to delete this role?" 3. Click **Delete** to confirm. A popup is displayed with a success or failure message. The custom role is permanently deleted. ## Contact Us For any assistance, [create a support case](https://learn.workforceexperience.hp.com/docs/creating-a-support-case) or email `support@wxp.hp.com`. ## Related - [Overview of Roles Management](/overview-of-roles-management.md) - [Overview of Settings](/overview-of-settings.md)