--- title: "Managing Printer Groups" slug: "managing-printer-groups" updated: 2026-04-24T22:22:47Z published: 2026-04-24T23:00:11Z canonical: "learn.workforceexperience.hp.com/managing-printer-groups" --- > ## Documentation Index > Fetch the complete documentation index at: https://learn.workforceexperience.hp.com/llms.txt > Use this file to discover all available pages before exploring further. # Managing Printer Groups ## Introduction The HP Workforce Experience Platform (WXP) lets you manage printer groups to keep your printer fleet organized and up to date. This guide explains how to update group rules, move printers between groups, modify group details, and delete printer groups. ## Target Audience - IT administrators who onboard and manage printers - Printer Administrators who onboard and manage printers ## Manage Printer Groups Once you have created one or more printer groups, you can manage or modify them in the following ways: - [Add or modify a group rule set](/wxp/docs/managing-printer-groups#adding-or-modifying-a-printer-group-rule-set) - [Moving the printer between printer groups](/wxp/docs/managing-printer-groups#moving-printers-between-groups) - [Remove printers from a group](/wxp/docs/managing-printer-groups#removing-printers-from-a-group) - [Modify group information](/wxp/docs/managing-printer-groups#adding-or-modifying-a-printer-group-rule-set) - [Delete a group](/wxp/docs/managing-printer-groups#deleting-a-group) ## Adding or modifying a printer group rule set If you have previously created a group, you can add or modify group rules to change which printers will be added to the group. Note that modifying group rules does not change or affect the printers that are currently in a group. Previously added printers remain, even if they no longer match the group’s rule set. To modify a rule set for a group: 1. In the Groups panel of the Printers list, click **Manage**. The **Printers** tab of the Groups screen appears. 2. In the Groups list, click the group you want to modify. The **Overview** tab of the **Group Details** page appears. 3. Click the **Rules and Printers** tab. 4. In the **Rules** panel of the tab, click **Edit**. The Edit group rules pane appears on the right side of the window. 5. Modify any existing rules as necessary. 6. To add a new rule, click **Add another rule** and define that rule as desired. A rule set can have up to five rules defined. 7. When you have changed the rule set as desired, click **Apply**. ## Moving Printers Between Groups There are two ways to move printers between printer groups. You can: - Manually select printers from other groups to add them to the currently selected printer group. - Remove printers from the currently selected printer group so they return to the Ungrouped group. This enables WXP to automatically sort the printers into the appropriate groups based on any rule sets you’ve previously defined. ### Manually Adding Printers to a Group You can manually move printers from one group to another at any time. To add printers to a group: 1. On the **Printers** tab of the Groups screen, in the list of printer groups, click the group you want to add printers to. The **Overview** tab of the **Group Details** page appears. 2. Click the **Rules and Printers** tab. 3. In the Printers panel of the tab, click **Add printers**. The **Add printers** dialog appears. 4. In the **Move printers from** dropdown, select which group you want to add printers from. 5. From the list of printers, select the printers you want to add to the group. 6. Click **Add**. ### Removing Printers from a Group To remove printers from a group: 1. On the Printers tab of the Groups screen, in the list of printer groups, click the group you want to remove printers from. The Overview tab of the Group Details page appears. 2. Click the **Rules and Printers** tab. 3. In the Printers panel of the tab, check one or more printers that you want to remove. The Remove button appears above the list. 4. Click **Remove**. A Confirmation dialog appears 5. Click **Remove** to confirm the removal of the printer(s) from the group. ## Modifying Group Information To modify the details of the group: 1. On the Printers tab of the Groups screen, in the list of printer groups, click the group you want to modify. The Overview tab of the Group Details page appears. 2. Click **Edit**. The Edit Group Details pane appears on the right side of the window. 3. Enter a new **Group Name** or **Description**. 4. Click **Apply**. ## Deleting a Group > [!NOTE] > Note: > > If the group that you are deleting contains printers, those printers will be moved to Ungrouped. To delete a group: 1. On the Printers tab of the Groups screen, in the list of printer groups, click the group you want to delete. The Overview tab of the Group Details page appears. 2. Click **Delete group**. A confirmation dialog appears. 3. To confirm the deletion of the group, enter the security code in the field, then click **Delete**. ## Contact Us For any assistance, [create a support case](https://learn.workforceexperience.hp.com/docs/creating-a-support-case) or email support@wxp.hp.com.